Urban Lifestyle

Eau et design fusionnent pour une nouvelle architecture sur les fronts de mer urbains

Construire de manière durable dans les régions côtières est un sujet sensible, surtout dans les zones à forte densité de population. L’urbanisme reflète désormais le besoin de protéger nos littoraux et de vivre en harmonie avec la nature. Des villes comme Rio de Janeiro souhaitent renouer avec leur front de mer en revitalisant les ports. L’architecture récente montre également cette affinité avec l’eau. Le long des fronts de mer et des littoraux, la conception des immeubles et des aménagements paysagers dérive de plus en plus de l’eau ou incorpore véritablement des éléments aquatiques, comme pour annoncer l’eau et célébrer la nature. Ces structures créent un pont magnifique entre la terre et la mer, l’humain et la nature.
Urban Lifestyle
An urban lifestyle for the future -  By first recognizing the impact of our city lifestyles, we can pave the path for sustainable economic development and a brighter, greener future.
215 vues

Fait le 04/10/2018

Là où les opposés s’attirent

L’un est solide, l’autre liquide : l’environnement construit et l’eau circulant librement. Le mélange de ces deux opposés semble improbable. Généralement, les deux se rencontrent sous la forme d’un barrage ou d’un projet de construction bloquant l’accès naturel à l’eau. Ce que nous voyons maintenant apparaître, pourtant, est un superbe dialogue entre ces deux éléments.

Il existe de nombreux exemples historiques dans lesquels l’eau a façonné le design. Les aqueducs, bien que construits à des fins pratiques, émergeaient élégamment du paysage et attestaient à la fois de la beauté du design et de l’habileté des ingénieurs. Frank Lloyd Wright a conçu la Maison sur la cascade pour renforcer la chute d’eau plutôt que de l’éradiquer.

Au cours de la dernière décennie, l’architecture résidentielle le long des littoraux a adopté l’eau comme source d’inspiration, et pas seulement comme une force de la nature avec laquelle compter. Cependant, les conceptions façonnées par l’eau ne se cantonnent plus aux bâtiments résidentiels. Les exemples suivants montrent des immeubles et aménagements urbains du paysage dans le monde entier.

Frank Lloyd Wright’s seminal Fallingwater.
Frank Lloyd Wright’s seminal Fallingwater.
« Je pense que la relation entre l’architecture et la nature est très importante, surtout maintenant. Nous avons vu au cours des dix ou quinze dernières années que les constructions au sein de la nature, respectant la nature et mettant en valeur le paysage sont une préoccupation croissante. »
Emilia Terragni – Directrice de la rédaction, Phaidon Press, éditrice de « Living on Water »

Lorsque l’eau et les bâtiments dialoguent

La dernière décennie a vu émerger une architecture des fronts de mer dans les centres urbains cherchant activement à recréer des liens avec l’eau. Cette tendance reflète également une conscience accrue de notre besoin de soutenir notre environnement naturel plutôt que de vouloir le contenir par des constructions.

À Copenhague, au Danemark, l’impressionnant Den Blå Planet, l’aquarium Blue Planet situé au bord de l’eau, est doté d’une architecture sinueuse et tourbillonnante inspirée par le mouvement infini de l’eau. L’entrée semblable à un tourbillon immerge les visiteurs dans un monde aquatique.

Dans le nord de la Chine, la Harbin Opera House est harmonieusement intégrée dans les zones humides, avec des lignes fluides semblant sculptées par le vent et l’eau. Dans une ville de plus de 10 millions d’habitants, ce superbe bâtiment symbolise à la fois la modernité urbaine et la proximité avec un environnement extrême.

En Écosse, le V&A Dundee a ouvert en septembre 2018. Ses lignes s’inspirent des falaises spectaculaires se trouvant sur la côte est du pays. Des remparts s’étendent au-delà de la Tay, tel un pont entre le fleuve et la ville, tandis que les ouvertures au niveau du sol semblent faire office de couloirs menant vers l’eau.

En Écosse, le V&A Dundee a ouvert en septembre 2018. Ses lignes s’inspirent des falaises spectaculaires se trouvant sur la côte est du pays. Des remparts s’étendent au-delà de la Tay, tel un pont entre le fleuve et la ville, tandis que les ouvertures au niveau du sol semblent faire office de couloirs menant vers l’eau.

Suivre la nature et non la réprimer

Beaucoup de villes se targuent d’avoir une rivière les traversant, mais peu ont des parcs serpentant à travers le centre comme la rivière. L’aménagement du paysage urbain autour des rivières ne peut pas entièrement rétablir l’état naturel de ces lieux, mais il peut leur donner une forme plus naturelle, offrant une meilleure accessibilité, donc une meilleure appréciation de la rivière.

À Santiago, au Chili, les urbanistes souhaitaient concevoir un parc pour regagner la vue sur la rivière depuis plusieurs rives. Tandis que les éléments architecturaux donnent une allure moderne au nouveau parc fluvial Padre Renato Poblete, les interactions aléatoires de la végétation et des cours d’eau permettent de se rapprocher de la nature.

À Velenje, en Slovénie, les urbanistes ont également répondu à l’appel de la nature. Le caractère d’origine de cette « ville dans un parc » a conduit à créer un paysage octroyant à nouveau une place centrale à la rivière. La nouvelle promenade est un ensemble de marches, de terrasses et de plateformes de hauteur et de profondeur variables, attirant les visiteurs au niveau de l’eau.

Avec sa nouvelle conception pour le front de mer, le port de Tallinn, en Estonie, se démarque des restaurations de front de mer habituelles. Les plans pour les bâtiments bas aux contours doux estompent la frontière entre l’espace urbain et le bord de mer. Cet effet est renforcé par des éléments aquatiques au niveau de la rue.

Construire et concevoir « l’architecture de l’eau »

Quelle que soit la taille de ces nouvelles conceptions basées sur l’eau, cette tendance reflète l’évolution des consciences concernant la relation entre les humains et l’écologie. Ceux qui choisissent de s’inspirer des formes de la nature sont désormais soutenus par des avancées telles que la technologie numérique, les outils de fabrication et outils informatiques ainsi que l’impression 3D, qui permettent de construire des bâtiments à la géométrie complexe.

À mesure que l’ingénierie et la technologie progressent, la conception de bâtiments naturels et basés sur l’eau repousse les limites. La nouvelle génération de bâtiments d’« aquatecture » est déjà prometteuse. Ces structures ne se contenteront pas d’intégrer des éléments ou symboles aquatiques, elles seront créées directement « avec » l’eau, comme dans le cas des logements amphibies.

Image Credits

Fallingwater, photo by Carol M. Highsmith, taken from commons.wikimedia.org

Den Blå Planet, photo by Sandro Katalina, taken from commons.wikimedia.org

Harbin Opera House, photo by Pressimad, taken from commons.wikimedia.org, some rights reserved

MAAT Museum, photo by Maria Eklind, taken from commons.wikimedia.org, some rights reserved

V&A Dundee, video by V&A Dundee

Promenada Velenje, photo by Miran Kambic

Tallinn Port, photo by Port of Tallinn, taken from commons.wikimedia.org, some rights reserved

Padre Renato Poblete River Park, photo by Carless Molina, taken from commons.wikimedia.org, some rights reserved

Urban Lifestyle

Water and design merge to bring new architecture to urban waterfronts

Building sustainably on coastal regions is a hot topic, particularly in areas with high-density populations. Urban planning now reflects a need to protect our waterfronts and live in harmony with nature. Cities like Rio de Janeiro strive to reconnect with their waterfronts by revitalizing ports. This affinity with the water is also displayed in recent architecture design. Along waterfronts and coastlines, building and landscaping design increasingly derives its form from water, or organically incorporates water elements, in an attempt to announce the water and celebrate nature. These structures create a beautiful bridge between land and water, and man and nature.
Urban Lifestyle
An urban lifestyle for the future –  By first recognizing the impact of our city lifestyles, we can pave the path for sustainable economic development and a brighter, greener future.
14811 views

Published on 04.10.2018

Where opposites attract

One is solid, the other fluid. The constructed environment and free-flowing water. Two opposites unlikely to mix. Traditionally, the two usually meet in the form of a dam or a construction project that blocks natural access to water. What we’re seeing now, however, is a beautiful dialogue between the two.

There are many historic examples of water informing design. Aqueducts, while built for practical purposes, rose elegantly out of the landscape and attested both to the beauty of design and the ingenuity of engineering. Frank Lloyd Wright designed Fallingwater to enhance the tumbling stream rather than eradicate it.

In the last decade, residential architecture  along waterlines has embraced water as an inspiration and not just a force of nature to be reckoned with. But water-informed designs are no longer exclusively domestic. The following examples show organic urban landscaping and buildings from places around the world.

Frank Lloyd Wright’s seminal Fallingwater.
Frank Lloyd Wright’s seminal Fallingwater.
“I think the relationship between architecture and nature is very important – especially now. We have seen in the last ten or fifteen years, that there is more of a concern about the building within nature and with respecting the nature and really announcing the landscape.”
Emilia Terragni - Editorial Director, Phaidon Press, Editor of ‘Living on Water’

Water and building: coming head to head

The last decade has seen an emergence of waterfront architecture in urban centers which actively seeks to rebuild a connection to the water. This also reflects a greater consciousness of our need to support our natural environs rather than build over them.

In Copenhagen, Denmark, the stunning Den Blå Planet, The Blue Planet Aquarium on the water’s edge, has sinuous, swirling architecture inspired by the endless motion of water. The whirlpool-like entrance leads visitors down, immersing them in an aquatic world.

The Harbin Opera House in Northern China is seamlessly embedded in the wetlands, with flowing lines that appear sculpted by wind and water. In a city with over 10 million residents, it is a beautiful symbol of both urban modernity and the proximity to an extreme environment.

Another stunning example: the MAAT Museum in Lisbon, Portugal. The shimmering façade is clearly inspired by the rippling of water, and the low scale of the building recalls undulating dunes, thus making the whole structure extremely accessible.

The V&A Dundee in Scotland opens in September 2018. It borrows its lines from the dramatic cliffs found on the country’s east coast. Ramparts stretch out over the River Tay like a bridge between river and city, while openings on ground level act like passageways to the water.

Follow nature, don’t contain it

Many cities can claim “a river runs through it,” but few have parks which meander through the center much like the river. The new urban landscaping around rivers cannot truly return these spots to their natural form. Rather, they can take on a more natural form, offering better accessibility and appreciation of the river.

In Santiago, Chile, designers wanted to design a park that regained a view over the river from various banks. While architectural elements give the new Padre Renato Poblete River Park a modern feel, the random interplay of vegetation and waterways creates an organic experience.

In Velenje, Slovenia, designers also followed a call to reconnect to nature. The original character of the city as a “town-in-a-park” led to creating a landscape which allowed the river to take center stage again. The new Promenada is a series of steps, terraces and platforms at varying heights and depths that draw visitors down to the water’s level.

An interesting waterfront renewal design for Tallinn Port, Estonia demonstrates a new break from typical waterfront restoration. The plans for low buildings with soft contours blur the lines between urban space and waterfront. The effect is heightened by street-level water features.

Building and engineering “water architecture”

Whatever the scale of this new water-based design, it reflects an evolving consciousness of the relationship between humans and ecology. Those who choose to find form in nature are now supported by advances like digital technology, computational and fabrication tools, and 3D printing that enable the construction of complex geometries.

As engineering and technology advance, the design of natural, water-based buildings will know no bounds. The next generation of “Acquatecture” buildings is already up and coming. These structures will do more than implement water elements or symbols, but build directly “with” water, like in amphibious housing.

Image Credits

Fallingwater, photo by Carol M. Highsmith, taken from commons.wikimedia.org

Den Blå Planet, photo by Sandro Katalina, taken from commons.wikimedia.org

Harbin Opera House, photo by Pressimad, taken from commons.wikimedia.org, some rights reserved

MAAT Museum, photo by Maria Eklind, taken from commons.wikimedia.org, some rights reserved

V&A Dundee, video by V&A Dundee

Promenada Velenje, photo by Miran Kambic

Tallinn Port, photo by Port of Tallinn, taken from commons.wikimedia.org, some rights reserved

Padre Renato Poblete River Park, photo by Carless Molina, taken from commons.wikimedia.org, some rights reserved