Overview

URBAN HUB is an interactive platform for people working on the future of cities and mobility.
We collect personal stories about urban landmarks and future ideas for the sustainable development of cities worldwide.

Sustainability

Sustainability

改变历史地标建筑的用途

10.10.2018

在快速发展的城市中,建筑和其他结构往往会失去其原有用途,但它们仍然有用。通过适应性的再利用,可将旧厂房改造成营利性住宅、办公室或商业地产,公路桥梁也可变身为公关空间。

阅读更多
Sustainability

产学合作

18.07.2018

产业和大学的关系逐渐从竞争转变为合作。汉诺威大学 IWF 的 Denkena 教授和 thyssenkrupp Elevator 的 Meier 博士就快速发展和新技术时代背景下的合作、创造以及知识转移所需变革展开探讨。

阅读更多
Sustainability

校企合作

13.06.2018

高校和企业有着不同的使命。然而,近些年来,校企合作收获互利共赢已成趋势。高校提供知识、专业技术和学生资源,企业则提供资金、商业实战经验和人脉。

阅读更多
Sustainability

Monica Miller Brown 谈可持续发展

05.06.2018

如今的我们要求空气清新、水质洁净、建筑清洁。建筑行业已经认识到了有必要采取更加透明、更可持续的做法,并且在努力地做出弥补。可持续设计领导者 Monica Miller Brown 分享了她的个人见解和希望。

阅读更多
Sustainability

哥本哈根能源效率峰会

22.05.2018

全球能源效率论坛是可持续发展领域的盛事。论坛汇聚来自商界、政界和学术界的知名人士,开展为期两天的紧张对话和动员活动。今年,全球能源效率论坛在哥本哈根召开。论坛主题是:创新、投资、影响。

阅读更多

Sustainability

确保绿色未来 - 环境可持续性发展主张少浪费、低消耗理念,并提倡转向太阳能、风能或可持续性循环回收的材料。

Sustainability

Technology

Technology

电梯服务热线

16.10.2019

您有没有想过困在电梯里是什么情形?URBAN HUB 有好消息要告诉您。事情没那么糟糕,特别是当您随时可获得 thyssenkrupp Elevator Service24-Center 服务时。团队合作和冷静的头脑可让乘客意识到他们得到很好的照护。

阅读更多
Technology

设计更好的机场到达体验

08.10.2019

您到达了目的地机场:也许这是您第一次来这里、也许您要参加一个商务会议或是建立新的人际关系;无论在任何情况下,您都需要流畅的到达流程,以便继续做您需要做的事情。幸运的是,新的技术和设计可以帮助实现这一点。

阅读更多
Technology

延长电梯使用寿命

25.09.2019

有时,电梯也需要改造。电梯改造是使老电梯拥有功能性和美观性的绝佳选择。虽然更换始终都是一种选择,但如果它们能焕然一新再使用几十年,为什么不让它们继续服役呢?

阅读更多
Technology

MAX 与自动扶梯

19.09.2019

自 2017 年以来,启用 MAX 的电梯不断地在证明使用物联网连接的价值,并将预测性维护变为现实。许多国家已经从 MAX 中受益,其他国家很快也会如此。下一个惊喜已经到来:适用于自动扶梯的物联网连接。

阅读更多
Technology

面向儿童的教育应用程序

21.08.2019

游戏可为儿童打开新世界,加深他们对构建、创造和创新所需技能的理解。儿童可以使用虚拟工具和数字技术来勾勒建筑物和新城市,并想出构建它们所需的解决方案。这堪称是对未来城市规划者的完美培训。

阅读更多

Technology

使用更少的资源,做出更大的改变 - 是什么支撑着世界运转?创新技术。交通、建筑、能源和制造领域的创新,尤其是绿色创新,正在改变人们与环境互动并塑造环境的方式。

Technology

Buildings

Buildings

视频展现方法

15.08.2019

目前,大量视频和影片都是传播知识的重要媒介。相比文字,视频通常能够更快速、更清晰地阐述事物。建筑师和规划者正创造性地利用它们勾勒未来的建筑和城市。

阅读更多
Buildings

壮丽而诱人的音乐厅

01.08.2019

城市的繁荣发展离不开文化产品。文化产品不仅能够改善居民的生活质量,还能吸引游客。然而,让每个人都能接触到文化并非易事。URBAN HUB 审视十个真正向所有人敞开文化大门的壮丽音乐厅。

阅读更多
Buildings

旋转和自适应建筑

11.07.2019

何为建筑?与环境抗争而不是与之合作的笨拙结构?建筑不必静止不动。它们应该能够移动、适应天气条件并积极应对气候变化。了解建筑如何助力应对气候变化。

阅读更多
Buildings

改造体育场

04.07.2019

现在的人们可通过虚拟方式观看比以往任何时候更多的体育赛事。但现场观看比赛的体验总是更加特别。各体育场正使用尖端城市规划、结构设计和数字技术,为城市和观众带来更多更好的价值体验。

阅读更多
Buildings

折线形建筑

09.05.2019

建筑物是否要靠曲线显得现代又时尚?许多富有前瞻性思维的建筑师和“明星建筑师(starchitect)”都借助别出心裁的直线和角度变化,打造真正独特的建筑杰作。从引人注目的线条和角度探索最新建筑设计趋势。

阅读更多

Buildings

城市可持续性发展的灯塔 - 如今的城市规划是在打造城市未来的灯塔,传达城市可持续性发展、绿色环保和对生活负责的新信息。

Buildings

Cities

Cities

高塔竞速的历史

12.09.2019

作为源于城市的运动,爬楼梯比赛诞生于 1903 年的巴黎,此后,这项运动逐渐发展成为世界各地摩天大楼举办的比赛。这项简单的爬楼梯运动是如何成为国际化竞技运动的呢?

阅读更多
Cities

重新定位港口城市滨水区

03.09.2019

许多城市都在重新发现其滨水区之美,并投资项目使其更具吸引力、更实用、交通更便利。港口城市具有以下优势:拥有更多的滨水区供再度开发,用于住房、商店、公园、娱乐、旅游和城市交通。

阅读更多
Cities

智慧城市,明智选择

29.08.2019

每次讨论城市化时,“智慧城市”都是一个热门话题。智能技术已经颠覆我们对城市管理的思考方式,并使新的功效和服务成为可能。URBAN HUB 积极探索为何智能技术仍然需要明智决策才能获得最大优势。

阅读更多
Cities

值得关注的活力城市

18.06.2019

世界变化如此迅速,现在和未来似乎是在齐头并进。城市化则通过那些为我们未来的城市中心生活开辟全新的生活、工作和发展道路的活力城市助长这一势头。URBAN HUB 着眼七大活力城市。

阅读更多
Cities

香港的大型项目

19.03.2019

香港:大型项目不断,发展不止。漫步东方之珠,探索一些全球最不可思议的基础设施项目并了解这座日新月异的城市。

阅读更多

Cities

全面智能 - 智能城市概念在许多方面就是良好的城市规划,其中融合了数字技术的进步,以及对人际、社区、环境可持续性、参与式民主、良好治理、高透明度等传统城市概念的新思考。

Cities

Energy Efficiency

Energy Efficiency

城市微气候启发变革

04.01.2019

微气候常见于自然界。在城市中,它往往被视为城市化进程中一个意想不到且不受欢迎的结果——热岛效应就是其中最有名的城市微气候。然而,规划方面的新动向正改变我们对城市微气候的看法,也启发着我们利用微气候的方式。

阅读更多
Energy Efficiency

易遭天灾的沿海城市

01.03.2018

世界上大部分特大城市都位于沿海地区。猛烈的风暴使它们面临洪水的威胁,恶劣的天气预计会变得更加频繁和严重。同时,海平面也在上升。那么,有哪些海岸保护解决方案呢?URBAN HUB 对此进行了探讨。

阅读更多
Energy Efficiency

持续供暖

11.01.2018

在许多较冷的国家,供暖比发电消耗的能源还多,因此,如何让能源效率和环境可持续性推动保暖新趋势的问题能够成为全球长期关注焦点也就不足为奇。URBAN HUB 带您追踪热点...

阅读更多
Energy Efficiency

超级工程与环境

25.10.2017

有时,超级工程会让人产生利弊共存的想法。最近的大型基础设施已经从过去的错误中吸取教训,现在,通过精心规划和先进技术来践行环保目标,并将保护地球环境放在首位。

阅读更多
Energy Efficiency

政策变革促进能源节约

15.09.2017

非政府组织如何有效地游说以提高能源效率?通过教育与宣传,或者是采取实际行动?节能联盟(ASE)专注于政策变革,并与业界思想领袖合作,向他们提供能源效益的专业知识和现实范例。

阅读更多

Energy Efficiency

增加能源、减少浪费 - 能源效率还有赖于对太阳能、风能等可持续性资源的更广泛使用。

Energy Efficiency

Smart Mobility

Smart Mobility

重型自动扶梯之美

09.08.2019

在通过从自动驾驶出租车到电动摩托车等解决方案提高城市居民交通工具标准的时代,还有一个守护者在默默地保持人员流动:自动扶梯。URBAN HUB 探讨为城市居民提供通勤服务的十部高人流量自动扶梯。

阅读更多
Smart Mobility

下一代城市交通

23.07.2019

随着全球人口越来越多地定居大都市,城市公共交通需要重新规划。很多交通创新者正在颠覆我们对城市通勤的看法。成功的解决方案依靠提供更多选择而繁荣发展,其中许多选择都具有联网、电动和共享属性。

阅读更多
Smart Mobility

城市的未来交通运输

26.06.2019

正如标准化集装箱彻底改变了货物运输,一场客运革命即将来临。已在开发中的未来解决方案将在未来几年定义城市交通,尤其是当它们能够共同提供无缝、轻松的用户体验时。

阅读更多
Smart Mobility

独特的城市道路

05.06.2019

对城市规划者和建筑师来说,任何一片空间都有着无限的应用可能。不仅只有建筑和公园能够以创新方式使用和改变城市空间,有关人行道和自行车道的新创意也可以做到。URBAN HUB 将探讨这些独特的道路。

阅读更多
Smart Mobility

领导工作安全

25.04.2019

职业安全必须得到保证。为此我们制定规章、执行检查并填写各种表格。与 thyssenkrupp Elevator 工作场所关键人物 Luis Fernández de Vera 的问答讨论显示,良好的沟通和实践行动是安全的关键因素。

阅读更多

Smart Mobility

提供更好的出行方案 - 总而言之,智能移动解决方案会实现更少的拥堵、更方便的公共交通以及更清洁的空气。

Smart Mobility

Urban Lifestyle

Urban Lifestyle

弹出式社区成为主流

04.10.2019

源自中世纪的一个简单想法已经演变成从社区赋能、救灾、重新利用城市空间的游击战术到企业品牌激活的一切。弹出式社区是解决城市问题的灵丹妙药,还是只是引起短暂关注的现象?

阅读更多
Urban Lifestyle

重塑城市图书馆

23.05.2019

公共图书馆一直在城市生活中发挥着重要作用,为每个人提供从教育和职业资源到自由娱乐和社交空间的一切事物。随着时代的变迁,城市图书馆正进行自我重塑,以更好地满足城市居民的传统需求和新需求。

阅读更多
Urban Lifestyle

顶级城市滑雪场

24.01.2019

为长假或短假挑选目的地是个艰难的选择。在冬季,很多人既希望参与令人振奋的寒冷天气运动,又想获得体验新城市的快感。不必纠结:许多优秀的城市景点就能让您轻松享受滑降滑雪的乐趣。

阅读更多
Urban Lifestyle

悬浮城市

13.12.2018

SquareOne architects(丹麦哥本哈根)创始人 Kostas Poulopoulos 阐述其对悬浮城市的愿景——在空中提供大规模水平城市空间的互连建筑,为综合建筑间的物理和社交连接提供新路径。

阅读更多
Urban Lifestyle

艺术助力重建底特律

07.11.2018

底特律海德堡项目是全球最著名的城市艺术项目之一。其圆点状房屋和捡拾的“自然艺术品”象征着该城市以创新方式解决城市衰败问题。如今,该项目仍然寻求各种方法通过艺术为城市带来改变。

阅读更多

Urban Lifestyle

An urban lifestyle for the future -  By first recognizing the impact of our city lifestyles, we can pave the path for sustainable economic development and a brighter, greener future.

Urban Lifestyle

Urbanization

Urbanization

特大城市地产

28.05.2019

房地产价格不断上涨有利于经济,但发展失控也会带来有害的副作用。对价格上涨,某些人只看到获利机会,而另一些人则看到房地产市场发展失控的陷阱。URBAN HUB 着眼于探讨城市如何找到健康发展的平衡点。

阅读更多
Urbanization

Jess Zimbabwe:城市领导力

29.11.2018

城市由建筑和使用或接触这些建筑的人口组成。自然地,私人开发商希望获得利润、居民希望过上优质生活、人人都希望经济蓬勃发展。政府领导者尝试平衡这些需求。Jess Zimbabwe 和玫瑰中心可为此贡献绵薄之力。

阅读更多
Urbanization

Ben Hammersley:在大趋势中生存

20.04.2018

未来我们将面临什么样的挑战?我们又该如何克服这些挑战?URBAN HUB 接着上回再次对话知名未来学家 Ben Hammersley,听他谈论当下这个大趋势到来、备具挑战的时代,以及我们该如何面对未来,在未来获胜的策略。

阅读更多
Urbanization

从上空进行城市规划

05.04.2018

城市规划取决于时代、决策者、地理、技术等诸多因素。正如图纸和地图帮助我们浏览地点或理解事物一样,照片也有类似功能。特别是航空照片,更是有助于我们从更大格局上观察城市规划。

阅读更多
Urbanization

大趋势——Ben Hammersley

26.03.2018

随着政商界疲于应对数字化未来的种种不确定性,颇具影响力的著名未来学家 Ben Hammersley 开始在世界各地备受欢迎。在对他的专访中,URBAN HUB 与 Ben 一起探讨了正在推动我们走进未来的一些大趋势。

阅读更多

Urbanization

我们的城市,我们的未来 - 城市化发展趋势并没有减弱的迹象,而且城市化将大大改变我们生活、工作以及在社区互动的方式。

Urbanization

Overview

URBAN HUB is an interactive platform for people working on the future of cities and mobility.
We collect personal stories about urban landmarks and future ideas for the sustainable development of cities worldwide.

Sustainability

Sustainability

Repurposing historic landmarks

10.10.2018

In our rapidly developing cities, buildings and other structures often outlive their original purpose – but not their usefulness. Through adaptive reuse, old factory buildings can be converted into profitable residential, office or commercial property, and highway bridges can become public spaces.

Read more...
Sustainability

University and industry collaboration

18.07.2018

Instead of industries and universities competing, increasingly they work together. Prof. Denkena, IWF at University of Hannover, and Dr. Meier, thyssenkrupp Elevator, discuss cooperation and what needs to change to create and transfer knowledge in an era of rapid developments and new technologies.

Read more...
Sustainability

University and corporate collaborations

13.06.2018

The mission of a university may differ from that of a company. In recent years, however, mutual benefits have become apparent to both. Universities offer their knowledge, expertise, and access to students, while businesses offer funding as well as real-world business experience and contacts.

Read more...
Sustainability

Monica Miller Brown talks sustainability

05.06.2018

Today we demand clean air, clean water, and clean buildings. And the building industry is making up for lost time – waking up to the need for greater transparency and sustainability in its practices. Monica Miller Brown, a leader in sustainable design, shares her insights and hopes.

Read more...
Sustainability

Copenhagen energy efficiency summit

22.05.2018

The Energy Efficiency Global Forum is a top event in the field of sustainability. It brings together high-level people from business, government, and academia for two days of intense dialogue and mobilization. This year, EE Global meets in Copenhagen. The theme: Innovation, Investment, Impact.

Read more...

Sustainability

Ensuring the future is green – Environmental sustainable development draws on concepts of little waste, lower consumption and switching to green, environmentally-sustainable resources like solar and wind or materials which can constantly be up-cycled.

Sustainability

Technology

Technology

Robots on the rise

07.11.2019

In recent years, robots have evolved from being stationary high-tech helpers in factories to become mobile connections between people, places, and things. That connection is going to become stronger now that a key obstacle to mobile robotic service has been solved. Robots can now use the elevator.

Read more...
Technology

The Elevator Service Hotline

16.10.2019

Have you ever wondered what it’s like to be stuck in an elevator? URBAN HUB has good news for you. It’s not so bad, especially if you’ve got the thyssenkrupp Elevator Service24-Center on the line. A mix of teamwork and cool heads helps passengers feel they are in good hands.

Read more...
Technology

Designing better airport arrivals

08.10.2019

You arrive at your destination airport. Maybe it’s your first time there. Maybe you’ve got a business meeting to attend or a connection to make. In any case, you want a smooth arrival process so you can get on with the things you need to do. Luckily, new technologies and designs help you do that.

Read more...
Technology

Increasing elevator longevity

25.09.2019

Even elevators need a makeover sometimes. Elevator modification is an excellent option to give aging elevators a functional and aesthetic lift. Of course, it is always possible to replace them, but if they can last a few more decades and look new again – why not keep them around a little longer?

Read more...
Technology

MAX and escalators

19.09.2019

Since 2017, MAX-enabled elevators have been proving the value of IoT connectivity and turning predictive maintenance into a reality. Many countries are already benefiting from MAX and others will follow shortly. And the next big surprise is already here: IoT-connectivity for escalators.

Read more...

Technology

Using fewer resources for bigger change – What makes the world go around? Innovative technology. And in mobility, building, energy and manufacturing, especially green innovations are changing how people interact with and shape their environment.

Technology

Buildings

Buildings

Most anticipated buildings 2019

24.10.2019

The race is on, not only to build the tallest building in the world or in a particular hemisphere but to capture attention. Cutting-edge design, the best technology, and new concepts compete to turn a project into the next “star” building. URBAN HUB picks ten buildings turning heads in 2019.

Read more...
Buildings

Videos show the way

15.08.2019

The huge number of videos and films now available confirms their place as a key medium of knowledge transmission. Videos can often explain something faster and more clearly than mere words, and architects and planners are using them creatively to illustrate the future of buildings and cities.

Read more...
Buildings

Striking, inviting concert halls

01.08.2019

Cities thrive on their cultural offerings. Not only do they enhance the quality of life for residents, but they also attract visitors. Making culture accessible to everyone isn’t always easy though. URBAN HUB looks at ten stunning concert halls that truly open the doors of culture to all.

Read more...
Buildings

Rotating & adaptive buildings

11.07.2019

What is architecture? Is it unwieldy structures that fight the environment rather than work with it? Buildings don’t have to be static. They can move, adapt to weather conditions, and actively combat climate change. Find out what happens when buildings join the fight against climate change.

Read more...
Buildings

Reinventing the sports stadium

04.07.2019

People now have virtual access to more sporting events than ever before. But there will always be something special about seeing a match live, and stadiums are using cutting-edge urban planning, architectural design, and digital technologies to offer more and better value to cities and spectators.

Read more...

Buildings

Beacons of urban sustainability – Today’s urban city planning creates future beacons for cities which convey the new messages of sustainability, green choices and living responsibly.

Buildings

Cities

Cities

History of tower running

12.09.2019

An urban sport from its very roots, the stair race was born in Paris in 1903 and has since grown to include competitions held in skyscrapers around the world. How did this simple exercise of running up the stairs become an international competitive sport?

Read more...
Cities

Rediscovering port city waterfronts

03.09.2019

Many cities have been rediscovering the beauty of their waterfronts and investing in projects to make them more attractive, useful, and accessible. Port cities have an advantage: they just have more waterfront to redevelop for housing, shops, parks, recreation, tourism, and urban mobility.

Read more...
Cities

Smart cities, good choices

29.08.2019

“Smart city” is a trending topic in every discussion of urbanization. Smart technologies have disrupted how we think about managing cities and opened possibilities for new efficiency and services. URBAN HUB looks at how smart technology still needs smart decisions to harness the greatest benefit.

Read more...
Cities

Dynamic cities to watch

18.06.2019

The world changes at such a rapid pace, it’s as if the future lives hand-in-hand with the present. Urbanization can fuel this momentum with dynamic cities that forge a new path to how we will live, work, and thrive in our urban centers in the future. URBAN HUB looks at seven top dynamic cities.

Read more...
Cities

Hong Kong’s mega projects

19.03.2019

Hong Kong: moving mega projects & non-stop development. Take a stroll through the Pearl of the Orient to discover some of the most incredible infrastructure projects in the world and learn about the city of constant change.

Read more...

Cities

Smart inside and out – In many ways, the smart city concept is simply good urban planning that incorporates both advances in digital technology and new thinking in the age-old city concepts of relationships, community, environmental sustainability, participatory democracy, good governance and transparency.

Cities

Energy Efficiency

Energy Efficiency

Urban microclimates inspire change

04.01.2019

Microclimates are commonly found in nature. In cities, though, they are often seen as an unintended and undesirable consequence of urbanization – heat islands are the best known of these. But a new push in planning is changing how we think about urban microclimates, and what we do with them.

Read more...
Energy Efficiency

Climate-proofing coastal cities

01.03.2018

Most of the world’s megacities are located on coasts. Powerful storms put them all at risk of flooding, and extreme weather is only expected to become more common and severe. Meanwhile, sea levels are rising. So what kinds of coastal protection solutions are being tested? URBAN HUB takes a look.

Read more...
Energy Efficiency

Heating things up sustainably

11.01.2018

Many colder countries consume more energy for heating than for electrical power, so it should come as no surprise that the ongoing global concern with energy efficiency and environmental sustainability should be driving new trends in keeping people warm. URBAN HUB is hot on the trail…

Read more...
Energy Efficiency

Mega projects and the environment

25.10.2017

The mega project sometimes brings to mind construction that leaves behind damage along with the gains. Recent massive infrastructures have learned from past mistakes and now focus on an environmentally-friendly impact through better planning and technology and putting the planet first.

Read more...
Energy Efficiency

Policy change saves energy

14.09.2017

How can NGOs effectively lobby for energy efficiency? Through education and outreach or activism? The Alliance to Save Energy (ASE) focuses on policy change and partners with industry thought leaders who provide them with know-how and real-life examples of the benefits of energy efficiency.

Read more...

Energy Efficiency

Keeping the energy in and waste out – Energy efficiency combines educating people about consumption with new, improved, and green building construction that reduces an urban center’s environmental footprint.

Energy Efficiency

Smart Mobility

Smart Mobility

Heavy-duty escalator beauties

09.08.2019

In an age that raises the bar on mobility solutions for urban residents with solutions ranging from self-driving taxis to e-scooters, one stalwart continues to keep people moving: the escalator. URBAN HUB looks at ten high-traffic escalators that urbanites rely on to rise to the occasion.

Read more...
Smart Mobility

Next level urban mobility

23.07.2019

As the world’s population increasingly settles in metropolises, urban public transportation needs a plan. Many mobility innovators are disrupting how we think about commuting in cities. Successful solutions will thrive on offering choices, many of them networked, electric, and shared.

Read more...
Smart Mobility

Futuristic transportation for cities

26.06.2019

Just as standardized containers revolutionized freight transport, a revolution in passenger transportation is coming. Futuristic solutions already in development will define urban mobility in the years ahead, especially if they can all work together to provide a seamless, stress-free user experience.

Read more...
Smart Mobility

Unusual urban pathways

05.06.2019

Urban planners and architects can’t afford to take a single square meter of urban space for granted. Not only can buildings and parks innovate and changes urban spaces, but also new ideas for sidewalks and bike paths. URBAN HUB sets out to investigate unusual pathways.

Read more...
Smart Mobility

Leadership in work safety

25.04.2019

Safety at work must be ensured. Laws are passed, inspections made, and forms filled out. A Q&A talk with Luis Fernández de Vera, a key figure in workplace safety at thyssenkrupp Elevator, reveals good communication and hands-on action provide the key ingredients for safety.

Read more...

Smart Mobility

Keeps people moving to better solutions – People fed up with congested cities, are innovating smart mobility with new mobile technologies and intuitive apps which integrate public transportation, better infrastructure, and car sharing.

Smart Mobility

Urban Lifestyle

Urban Lifestyle

U.S. and urban construction

28.10.2019

Dozens of cities across the U.S. seem to be in a race to build the next headline-grabbing building. Not just taller, but more innovative, striking, and sustainable. As U.S. urban populations boom, so does construction and new urban mobility solutions. URBAN HUB takes a closer look.

Read more...
Urban Lifestyle

Pop-ups go mainstream

04.10.2019

What started as a simple idea in the Middle Ages has mutated into everything from neighborhood empowerment, disaster relief, a guerrilla tactic for repurposing urban space, and corporate brand activation. Are pop-ups the panacea for what ails cities, or simply a symptom of shorter attention spans?

Read more...
Urban Lifestyle

Reinventing urban libraries

23.05.2019

Public libraries contribute significantly to urban life, offering everything from educational and vocational resources to free recreational and social space for everyone. As times change, urban libraries are reinventing themselves to better meet both the traditional and new needs of urban citizens.

Read more...
Urban Lifestyle

Top urban ski spots

24.01.2019

Picking a destination for a holiday or break can feel like a hard choice. In the winter, many people would like to combine some invigorating cold-weather athletics with the thrill of experiencing a new city. Never fear: Many great urban venues also offer easy access to the joys of downhill skiing.

Read more...
Urban Lifestyle

The Hanging City

13.12.2018

Kostas Poulopoulos, founder of SquareOne architects (Copenhagen, Denmark), discusses his vision of the Hanging City – interconnected buildings that offer massive horizontal urban realms in the sky, providing new paths to physical and social connectivity among the integrated buildings.

Read more...

Urban Lifestyle

An urban lifestyle for the future –  By first recognizing the impact of our city lifestyles, we can pave the path for sustainable economic development and a brighter, greener future.

Urban Lifestyle

Urbanization

Urbanization

Mega city real estate

29.05.2019

Rising real estate prices benefit the economy, yet an unchecked boom also leads to unwanted side effects. For some, rising prices simply translate into profits, others see the pitfalls of an unchecked housing market boom. URBAN HUB takes a look at how cities can find a healthy balance.

Read more...
Urbanization

Jess Zimbabwe: urban leadership

29.11.2018

Cities are made up of buildings and the people who use or encounter these buildings. Naturally, private developers want profits, residents want quality of life, and everybody wants a good economy. Government leaders try to balance these needs. Jess Zimbabwe and the Rose Center help them.

Read more...
Urbanization

Ben Hammersley: surviving megatrends

20.04.2018

What challenges does the future hold for us, and how can we overcome them? In the second part of the URBAN HUB interview with noted futurist Ben Hammersley, he discusses the testing times awaiting us because of current megatrends, and some strategies for coping and thriving in the world of tomorrow.

Read more...
Urbanization

Urban planning from above

05.04.2018

The point of urban planning depends on the era, the decision-makers, geography, technology and many other factors. Just as drawings and maps help us to navigate places or understand things, so too do photographs. Particularly aerial photos help us to see the bigger picture of city planning.

Read more...
Urbanization

Megatrends – with Ben Hammersley

26.03.2018

Popular, personable and provocative, futurist Ben Hammersley is in high demand around the world, as businesses and government grapple with the uncertainties of the digital future. In an exclusive interview, URBAN HUB talks with Ben about the megatrends that are already propelling us into the future.

Read more...

Urbanization

Our cities, our future – Urbanization, a trend which shows no signs of abating, will remarkably change the way we live, work, and interact in our communities.

Urbanization