当儿童参与城市规划——城市会更加美好

Idea
Future Cities

1989年《儿童权利公约》倡导儿童参与所有的社会进程,但是直到21世纪初,儿童基金会才引入了城市由儿童创建和为儿童创建的概念,进一步促进了该目标。

过去十年中,儿童环境研究小组伯纳德 • 范里尔基金会等组织机构一直在宣传儿童参与城市规划的重要性。随着将儿童的想法融入城市规划的倡议传播开来,许多城市发现它们的受益不止“一点点”。

Read more...

如何创建儿童友好型城市?

虽然可能有违古训,但实际上儿童必须被看到和听到——尤其是在他们居住的城市。为此,城市设计应做到切实展现儿童的风采,让他们能感到自信和安全。

儿童友好型的设计可以采取小型公园、步行区或教育热点等形式。一个吸引儿童的安全而迷人氛围可以使他们建立起与城市的联系,让他们对周围的环境着迷并充满好奇。

如此可以鼓励儿童以适合其年龄的方式与其社区互动,并随着年龄增长,最终以增加和促进积极参与的方式——所有公民及其城市成长的源泉——塑造社区。

被倾听”的儿童回归圣保罗街道。

不仅仅只有儿童受益

虽然很多人发现儿童友好型城市的想法很吸引人,但他们可能不理解儿童积极参与决策和城市设计至关重要的原因。有些人很难理解儿童受益就会使所有人受益。

随着城市建筑越来越高,一些人忽视了街道生活,而这是居民之间以及与周围环境建立联系的一个重要组成部分。通过让儿童切实参与进来,人们可以增加城市互联的强度,并提高生活品质。

以儿童的视角设计的城市会产生让所有人受益的想法。玩耍的公园成为社交空间,小规模的规划打破了大规模的无特色设计,行人安全挑战机动化的城市中心,早期参与成为社会责任……还有很多益处。

儿童描绘出让所有人受益的想法。 儿童描绘出让所有人受益的想法。
儿童描绘出让所有人受益的想法。
在Box City活动中,孩子们与建筑师分享见解。

让儿童从小参与

不让儿童参与城市规划意味着失去与处理过度拥挤、安全和可持续性等问题的未来领导者相联系的机会。让儿童从小思考他们周围的环境——观察和评论——可以教会他们重要的生活技能。

《我的世界》(Minecraft)等游戏已经倾听了儿童构建自己的世界的需求。联合国人居署近期利用了《我的世界》与年轻人展开对话。如今已有15个国家组织了讨论活动,让儿童可以通过游戏向当地的决策者们展示他们的想法。

Box City教学材料和活动让教师和城市规划师聚在一起,帮助儿童了解城市的创建方式,并使他们找到表达创意观点、让城市更美好的方法。

授权给儿童

虽然教育是首要因素,但儿童也必须得到授权。许多地方和国际组织,如联合国赞助的儿童和青年大会,正在增加儿童探索、讨论和塑造其城市经验的平台。

以下是世界各地城市倾听儿童的声音的几个例子。

“瑞典:“Jakopsgården”是一个长期发展项目,它通过对话、模型建设和城市徒步旅行等方式吸引年轻人参与分析交通、行人和自行车道、游乐区和会议区以及建筑物。

日本:福津市Keitaro Ito的学童聚集在讨论活动上,展示他们对当地公园水环境的想法,特别是关于鱼类和水生昆虫以及水深的想法。

印度:一个包含儿童友好型图片调查工具的资源工具包使孟买儿童能够评估其社区的游乐、住房和医疗保健等领域的质量。此外,在孟买开展的Humara Bachpan活动还帮助贫困城市的儿童制作他们梦想社区的3D模型,并与当地政府代表分享,以解决街道照明、污染等问题。

儿童可以做好。

为建设更好、更加可持续的城市,所有人都应该纳入城市规划,这意味着也包括孩子。现在这样做将使每个人受益,因为随着这些儿童长大,他们将成为我们未来可持续城市生活的大使。

简单而言,城市规划者可以包括各个年龄段的人和不同数量的人群。虽然在规划城市时对儿童的实际包容仍处于起步阶段,但是儿童或全龄友好型的想法正在切实地影响着城市规划的设计。

H

When kids put on their urban planner hats – cities are better for everyone

Idea
Future Cities

The 1989 Convention on the Rights of the Child championed children’s participation in all social processes, but it wasn’t until the early 2000s that UNICEF took that goal further by introducing the concept of cities by and for children.

In the last decade, organizations like the Children’s Environments Research Group and the Bernard van Leer Foundation have promoted the importance of children-engagement in urban planning. As initiatives to integrate children’s ideas into urban planning have spread, cities are finding the benefits are more than ‘pint-sized’.

Read more...

What makes a city good for children?

It may go against the old maxim, but actually children must be seen and heard – especially in the cities in which they live. To enable this, a city should be designed on a scale that literally doesn’t overshadow them, so that children can feel confident and safe.

Child-friendly designs can take the form of pocket parks, pedestrian zones or educational hotspots. A safe and engaging atmosphere for children allows them to grow a connection with their city, as well as a fascination with their surroundings, and a curiosity about it.

This encourages children to interact with their neighborhood in age-appropriate ways, and eventually shape it – as they grow older – in ways that empower and promote their active participation, something all citizens and their cities thrive on.

‘Criança Fala’ kids are reclaiming the streets of São Paulo.

It’s not just child’s play

Although many people find the idea of child-friendly cities endearing, they may not understand why children’s active involvement in decisions and urban design is important. It’s difficult for some to grasp that what’s good for children is good for all.

As cities have soared higher and higher, some have ignored street-level life – an essential component for residents to build relationships to each other and their surroundings. By literally taking it down to a child’s level, people can increase the intensity of urban interconnectedness, and strengthen the fabric of a good quality of life.

A city designed from the eyes of children encourages ideas that are healthy for all. Parks to play in become spaces for socializing, small-sized planning breaks up large-scale anonymity, pedestrian safety challenges auto-centric hubs, early engagement becomes social responsibility… and the list goes on and on.

Children sketch ideas that benefit everyone. Children sketch ideas that benefit everyone.
Children sketch ideas that benefit everyone.
At Box City events, kids share insights with architects.

Giving children the building blocks early on

To leave children out of urban planning means losing the chance to connect future leaders with issues like overcrowding, safety and sustainability. Getting kids thinking about their surroundings early on – observing and commenting – teaches them critical life skills.

Games like Minecraft have already tuned into a child’s need to construct a world all their own. UN Habitat recently used Minecraft to open a dialogue with young people. Now in 15 countries, workshops are organized where children use the game to present their ideas to local decision-makers.

The Box City classroom materials and events bring teachers and urban planners together to help children learn how a city is created and to find ways for them to creatively express their views on how to make it better.

Power to the children

While education is a first step, children must also be empowered. Organizations – both local and international, such as UN-sponsored The Children and Youth Assembly – are increasingly providing platforms for children to explore, discuss and shape their urban experiences.

Here are a few examples from around the world, where the voices of urban kids are being heard by their cities.

Sweden: “Jakopsgården” is a long-term development project that analyzes traffic, pedestrian and biking lanes, play and meeting areas, and buildings by engaging youth via dialogue, model building and urban walking tours.

Japan: School children in Keitaro Ito, Fukutsu City gathered in workshops and created presentations of their ideas for the water environment for a local park, in particular regarding the selection of fish and aquatic insects, and water depth.

India: A resource kit with a child-friendly pictorial survey tool enables Mumbai children to assess the quality of their communities in areas ranging from play to housing to health care. Also in Mumbai, a Humara Bachpan campaign helps kids in poor urban areas make 3D models of their dream neighborhoods to share with local government representatives, addressing issues such as street lighting and pollution.

The kids are alright.

To build better and more sustainable cities, we will all need to be included in urban planning. That means including children, too. Doing so now can only help everyone, as these children grow to become our ambassadors to the future of sustainable urban living.

We could also simply say that city planners come in all ages and sizes. Although the actual inclusion of children in planning cities is still in its infancy, the idea of child or all-age friendliness is inexorably affecting the design of urban planning.

H