无绳革命正式拉开帷幕——首台全套 MULTI 投入运行

2014 年 MULTI 项目面世时推出了一段令人感到非常振奋的视频。自那时起,它就一直是人们广泛关注和认可的话题,最近在 2017 年爱迪生奖的运输与物流类别中荣获金奖。

现在,MULTI 已做好正式上线的准备。对于测试未来科技,德国的中世纪小镇罗特威尔可能看似是一个不寻常之地,但很多方面都可以说明它实际上是一个再自然不过的选择。那里新建的电梯测试塔不仅本身就走在应用科学的前沿,还是专为测试 MULTI 而设计。6 月 22 日,MULTI 的测试工作将在该测试塔正式开始。

Read more...

 

Andreas Schierenbeck – CEO thyssenkrupp

“我们相信 MULTI 是一个真正的游戏变革者,它将真正改变人们在我们建设的环境中的移动、工作和生活方式,减少乘客的等待时间,大大减少占据建筑物的空间。MULTI 代表着电梯行业发展革命中一个真正里程碑。”

Andreas Schierenbeck – CEO, thyssenkrupp Elevator

 

庆祝活动开始

满满一天的活动等待着参加 MULTI 揭幕仪式的来宾。日程包括展示 MULTI 的各个方面,其中包括回顾磁悬浮系统、多级制动和感应电源技术,讨论电梯的内部设计,检查新塔中的测试井道,以及由高层建筑与城市住宅委员会 (Council on Tall Buildings and Urban Habitat) 主办的现场专场会议。

不过,活动的主要议题是探讨未来交通的核心问题。中午时分,随着 MULTI 的上升,“无绳革命”正式拉开帷幕。MULTI 是世界上第一款完全不需要线缆或绳索的电梯系统。乍一听,这可能像是在庆祝一个异想天开的事情,不过它确实如此,它使电梯具备了可以向上、向下、向右或向左运行的可能性——为乘客提供在建筑物内部和外部自由移动的机会,这在以前简直是天方夜谭。

毫无疑问:这项广受期待的技术有可能使城市生活(从地下的地铁建设到建筑设计)发生革命性的巨变。而且,自 2017 年 6 月 22 日起,第一套功能完善的 MULTI 设备在德国罗特威尔正式投入使用。

 

Gene Wilder as Willy Wonka

“这并非一台普通的上下电梯!”Wonka 先生自豪地宣布。“这台电梯可以横向、纵向、倾斜乃至以您能想到的任何方向运行!……您只需按下按钮……然后噌一下您就出发了!”
“不可思议!”乔爷爷喃喃低语着。

《查理和巧克力工厂》(罗尔德·达尔著)

 

不是游戏——而是游戏变革者

查理和他的爷爷乔被威利·旺卡精巧的发明大玻璃升降机 (Wonkavator) 惊得目瞪口呆。然而,作者罗尔德·达尔 (Roald Dahl) 又如何知道,就在其小说出版后的 50 年,这一虚构之物却成为了现实?只是与大玻璃升降机 (Wonkavator) 不同的是,MULTI 不能飞行,或者说至少目前还不能!但它能做的几乎更为奇妙。

首先,看看对投资者和业主的益处。由于 MULTI 可以在同一井道同时运行多个轿厢,因此服务核心会更小,同时仍可改善交通水平。如此一来,可用楼层空间最多可增加 25%,从而提供绝对优秀的投资回报率。

其次,看看对建筑设计的影响。有了无绳电梯水平和垂直输送乘客的能力,建筑师就拥有了一个超棒的新工具,让他们可以尝试以创新的几何形状进行设计。当前的一个趋势在日渐明朗:大胆的新设计、创新的性能材料和实验科学已然在改变当今建筑物的形状和风格,而 MULTI 正是此趋势的一个有力诠释。

接下来,看看对城市规划师的益处。URBAN HUB 之前已经分析了 MULTI 如何为城市提供一些更好地将人与公共交通相连的独特方式。此外,我们还从推理角度分析了在不久的将来可能出现的日常生活景象,而 MULTI 自然是其中不可或缺的一部分,它用以前难以想像的方式将建筑与空间相连。

对所有人而言,MULTI 可以节省能源,促进可持续性发展。您可以了解到它为何被称作“游戏变革者”。

标志性数字:160!

MULTI 揭幕庆典同样标志着 thyssenkrupp Elevator 庆祝世界首台电梯诞生 160 周年。为表彰 1857 年和 2017 年这两年发生的重大“变革性”事件,全球建筑业众多代表将出席庆典,包括建筑师、开发商和工程师——确切地说,代表人数共有 160 人!

芝加哥高层建筑与城市住宅委员会 (CTBUH) 执行主席 Antony Wood 就是嘉宾之一。CTBUH 是一个非营利性组织,也是“世界领先的专业人员资源中心,他们重点关注高层建筑和未来城市的起端、设计、建设和运营。”除了在城市建筑方面的研究和思想领导力,CTBUH 还提供一个免费的在线高层建筑数据库,是实际意义上授予“世界最高建筑”头衔的仲裁者。

作为一名受过培训的建筑师,Antony Wood 自 2006 年以来一直负责拓展 CTBUH 的工作,在那时他就担任了目前的角色。他活跃于 CTBUH 的各项工作中,包括领导 CTBUH 的高层建筑和可持续性工作小组。 

“MULTI 有望成为电梯行业的‘圣杯’,并为整个行业转型提供一把钥匙。它将改变建筑的设计方式,从而实现更有效的核心设计,以及建筑内更出色的连通性。有了 MULTI,电梯行业的发展前景无比光明。”

Antony Wood – Executive Director, CTBUH

C
 
通过这份于 2016 年 10 月在中国深圳发表的演讲,详细了解 Antony Wood 和 CTBUH。此主题是对城市密度可持续性发展进行为期两年的预试研究(“密集市中心与分散郊区之比较”)所得出的结论。

在柏林还有一项任务等着 MULTI 去完成

似乎全面运行测试还不够令人激动,MULTI 还有望在柏林新建的东部大楼 (East Side Tower) 进行首次商业安装。东部大楼是一座毗邻梅赛德斯-奔驰文化中心 (Mercedes-Benz Arena) 的 140 米高的办公楼,预计于 2020 年竣工。据投资者表示,这是“创新建筑与应用技术的标杆项目”。

东部大楼项目由领先的地产开发商(也是荷兰最大的地产开发商)OVG Real Estate 负责。该公司由 Coen van Oostrom 创立于 1997 年,已经逐步发展成为世界智能“绿色”建筑的主要倡导者之一。例如,OVG 的 HumboldtHafenEins 项目在 2015 年被评为“德国最环保的办公大楼”,并通过了 DGNB(德国可持续建筑委员会)的铂金奖认证。

另一个 OVG 项目甚至更为出色。2016 年,阿姆斯特丹一座 4 万平米的建筑 The Edge 获得英国评级机构 BREEAM 为全球创新办公大楼建设颁发的最高奖项。The Edge 在可持续性方面获得历史最高得分:98.4%。通过采取一些措施,使其成为世界上最环保的建筑,或者如 Bloomberg 所称,成为“世界最智能的建筑”,MULTI 发展前景一片光明。

“我们非常高兴能够成为这项前瞻性新技术的第一个客户。我们希望东部大楼成为柏林天际线的新地标。这样一个旗舰项目就需要一个智能、创新且可持续的建筑设计,而 MULTI 无疑正符合这一点。” 

Coen van Oostrom – CEO, OVG Real Estate

C
 
观看 Coen van Oostrom 在柏林举办的 2016 年 TEDx 大会上的演讲:“智慧城市:技术将如何改变我们的建筑”。他将阐述在建筑中如何运用智能技术以追求更高可持续性。

庆祝线缆时代的终结

罗特威尔,一座建有“测试塔”的小镇。尽管那里的新电梯测试塔要到 2017 年 10 月才正式开放,但是它已经在历史上占据一席之地。当欢聚的人潮散去,MULTI 的工作将继续,为柏林及许多其他确定可以落地安装的城市做好准备,因为它现在终于开始了其彻底改变建筑设计和城市规划这一真正使命。6 月 22 日是实现梦想的第一天——MULTI 成为现实的日子——也是未来众多成功之日的第一日。 .

C
 

Credits

Illustration of Gene Wilder as Willy Wonka (so long, Willy) by lylejk (CC BY 2.0)

 

H

The rope-less revolution begins now – first full-scale MULTI goes into operation

The announcement of MULTI in 2014 was celebrated with a massively popular video. Since then, it has been the subject of widespread interest and recognition, most recently receiving Gold in the category of Transportation & Logistics at the 2017 Edison Awards.

Now, MULTI is ready to go live. The medieval town of Rottweil, Germany, may seem an unusual place to test such futuristic technology, but in many ways it is the obvious choice. The new elevator-testing tower there is itself on the very cutting edge of applied science. It was also specifically designed to test MULTI – and on June 22nd, that is exactly what it will do.

Read more...

 

Andreas Schierenbeck – CEO thyssenkrupp

“We believe MULTI is a genuine game-changer that will truly transform the way people move, work and live in our built environment, reducing passenger waiting times and requiring significantly less space within a building. MULTI truly represents a landmark revolution in the elevator industry.”

Andreas Schierenbeck – CEO, thyssenkrupp Elevator

 

Let the festivities begin

A full day of activities awaits the guests attending the unveiling of MULTI. The agenda includes presentations on every aspect of the MULTI, from a review of its maglev system, multi-level braking and inductive power technology, to a discussion of its interior design,an inspection of the testing shafts in the new towerand an exclusive on-site conference hosted by the Council on Tall Buildings and Urban Habitat.

However, the main event addresses a central issue in the future of mobility. At the stroke of noon, MULTI rises – and the “rope-less revolution” begins. MULTI is the world’s first elevator system that altogether dispenses with cables or ropes. At first, that may sound like an odd thing to celebrate. But it is this ‘odd thing’ that opens up the possibility of an elevator that can go up, down, right, left – offering passengers a previously impossible opportunity to move about freely within buildings, and beyond.

Make no mistake: this widely anticipated technology has the potential to revolutionize urban life, from underground subway construction to the design of buildings. And, as of June 22nd, 2017, the first fully functional unit is in use, in Rottweil, Germany.

 

Gene Wilder as Willy Wonka

“’This isn’t just an ordinary up-and-down lift!’ announced Mr. Wonka proudly. ‘This lift can go sideways and longways and slantways and any other way you can think of! …You simply press the button… and zing! … you’re off!’
‘Fantastic!’ murmured Grandpa Joe.”

Charlie and the Chocolate Factory by Roald Dahl

 

Not a game – but a game-changer

Charlie and his Grandpa Joe were amazed by the Wonkavator, Willy Wonka’s clever invention. But how was author Roald Dahl to know that – 50 years after his book was published – the fiction was set to become reality? Unlike the Wonkavator, however, MULTI cannot fly, or at least not yet! But what it can do is almost more fantastic.

First of all, look at the benefits for investors and building owners. Since MULTI can run multiple cars in the same shaft at the same time, the service core can be smaller, while still improving mobility levels. That can lead to an increase in the usable floor space available of up to 25%, which translates into a decidedly healthy ROI (return on investment).

Second, look at the impact on building design. With the ability to move people both horizontally and vertically, architects have an exciting new tool that allows them to experiment with new geometries. MULTI joins an already growing trend where bold new designs, innovative performance materials and experimental science are already changing the shape and style of the buildings of today.

Then there are the urban planners. URBAN HUB has previously looked at how MULTI also offers cities some unique ways to better connect people with public transportation. We’ve also taken a speculative view at how daily life might look in the not-so-distant future. Naturally, MULTI is an integral part of that, connecting buildings and spaces in previously unimaginable ways.

And for everyone, MULTI delivers energy savings and greater sustainability. You can see why it’s called a game-changer.

The winning number is… 160!

The festivities surrounding the unveiling of MULTI also mark thyssenkrupp Elevator’s celebration of the 160th anniversary of the world’s very first elevator. In recognition of the ‘moving’ events of both 1857 and 2017, a number of representatives of the global building industry will attend, including architects, developers and engineers – 160 of them, to be exact!

Among the distinguished guests is Antony Wood, Executive Director of the Chicago-based Council on Tall Buildings and Urban Habitat (CTBUH). CTBUH is a not-for-profit organization, and “the world’s leading resource for professionals focused on the inception, design, construction, and operation of tall buildings and future cities.” In addition to its research and thought leadership in the subject of urban buildings, CTBUH provides a free, online database on tall buildings, and is the de facto arbiter of such designations as “The World’s Tallest Building”.

An architect by training, Antony Wood has been responsible for revitalizing CTBUH’s work since 2006, when he assumed his current role. He is active in every facet of CTBUH’s work, including his leadership of CTBUH’s Tall Buildings and Sustainability Working Group.

“MULTI has the potential to be the ‘holy grail’ of the elevator industry, and provide the key to transforming the industry at large. It will change the way buildings are designed, allowing for more efficient core designs, as well as better connectivity in buildings. With MULTI, the sky really is the limit.”

Antony Wood , Executive Director, CTBUH

C
 
Learn more about Antony Wood and CTBUH through this presentation in October 2016 in Shenzhen, China. The subject is the conclusion of a two-year pilot study on the sustainability of urban density:

MULTI also has a job waiting – in Berlin

As if the excitement of fully operational testing is not enough, MULTI is already looking forward to its first commercial installation at the new East Side Tower in Berlin. The 140-meter office building near the Mercedes-Benz Arena is slated for completion is 2020. According to investors, this is a “lighthouse project for innovative building and utilization technologies”.

OVG Real Estate, a leading real-estate developer (and the largest in the Netherlands), is in charge of the East Side Tower project. Founded in 1997 by Coen van Oostrom, the firm has gradually evolved into one of the world’s leading proponents of smart, “green” buildings. For example, OVG’s HumboldtHafenEins project was awarded the “greenest office building in Germany” in 2015, with a DGNB (German Sustainable Building Council) Certificate in Platinum.

Another OVG project went even further. In 2016, The Edge – a 40,000m² building in Amsterdam – was awarded British rating agency BREEAM’s top award for worldwide new office construction. The Edge scored the highest sustainability score ever recorded: 98.4%. By some measures, that makes it the greenest building in the world or, as Bloomberg called it, “The Smartest Building in the World.” MULTI is in good hands.

“We are absolutely delighted to be the first customer of this forward-thinking new technology. We hope that the East Side Tower will become a new landmark on the Berlin skyline. Such a flagship project demands an intelligent, innovative and sustainable building design – and MULTI will deliver exactly that.”

Coen van Oostrom , CEO, OVG Real Estate

C
 

Celebrating the end of the rope

Rottweil – town of towers. And even though the new elevator-testing tower there doesn’t officially open until October 2017, it has already earned a place in history. Once the crowds go home, MULTI’s work will continue, preparing it for Berlin, and for the many other cities it is sure to call its home, as it now finally begins its true mission of revolutionizing building design and urban planning. June 22nd is the first day of this reality – the day MULTI became reality – and the first of many successful days yet to come.

C
 

Credits

Illustration of Gene Wilder as Willy Wonka (so long, Willy) by lylejk (CC BY 2.0)

 

H