Cities

智能城市拉斯维加斯精心规划投资建造 “创新区”

拉斯维加斯对快速变化和城市化并不陌生。这座曾在“快车道”迅速发展的城市如今已经在朝新的方向拓展,不仅在商业和娱乐方面领先,在应用智能城市技术方面也是一马当先。去年,该市推出了创新区,这必将是许多其他城市希望跟紧步伐的目标。

通过与连接及物联网提供商合作,拉斯维加斯将使用智能应用连接、机器和传感器数据从根本上改善城市规划,特别是在交通、安全和效率方面。通过做好智能技术准备,拉斯维加斯不仅为应对城市挑战提供了现代化解决方案,还能使经济多样化并促进其发展。

Cities
全面智能 - 智能城市概念在许多方面就是良好的城市规划,其中融合了数字技术的进步,以及对人际、社区、环境可持续性、参与式民主、良好治理、高透明度等传统城市概念的新思考。
932 查看

创建于 2017 年 02 月 09 日

莱斯维加斯一路从赌城 发展为技术领先的智能城市。
莱斯维加斯一路从赌城 发展为技术领先的智能城市。

拉斯维加斯的下一个前沿领域 – 现代智能

拉斯维加斯经历了高速的城市化。2015年,福布斯称其为美国增长最快的城市之一。除了目前的60万左右人口之外,每年有超过4000万游客涌向这座城市。随着交通安全以及城市服务整体透明度和积极性的要求上升,该市的基础设施需求也激增。

拉斯维加斯赌场是物联网和机器学习的早期使用者,它们将其用于忠诚度计划,在记录客户消费以计算客户奖金时排除人为误差。如此提高了客户忠诚度和满意度– 就像该市现在想为其公民做的那样。

该市最初只有一个小型的Wi-Fi网络,用于内部使用,但任务似乎很繁重,而且如此巨大的基础设施维护成本昂贵。此外,拉斯维加斯正在寻找一个灵活且易于升级和修改的解决方案。

在寻求也在尝试智能城市技术的格拉斯哥、奥斯汀等城市的建议后,拉斯维加斯决定寻找一家私营企业合作伙伴,帮助该市拓展网络。

 

城市规划试验的高风险

拉斯维加斯虽然愿意尝试尖端的技术解决方案,但并不想冒险尝试高度试验性和高风险的解决方案。除了游客、居民,每天都有会议在此召开以及企业家在此汇聚,如此拉斯维加斯需要能够提供快速、高回报的策略。城市规划必须更加透明,并让社区参与。

它需要向每个需要信息的人提供信息,并使数据可以交互使用。最后,这些数据应纳入城市支持系统,以使该系统能使用实时信息和预测分析来改进所有部门的城市规划工具。

 

创新试验台

进入Ingenu,这是机器连接和物联网行业的领先者。通过合作,其将为拉斯维加斯提供物联网连接。Ingenu的Machine Network™是基于强大的RPMA技术,可以为机器到机器的通信提供无线连接。

它可以收集从空气质量到交通的各种智能城市应用程序的数据,并将为公民如何融入城市提供有用的意见。该解决方案是基于开放数据的基本原理。

智能城市技术战略正在拉斯维加斯新的创新区推出。这里紧邻拉斯维加斯商业开发区,将成为拟在整个城市实施的物联网解决方案的试验台。

信号让拉斯维加斯交通顺畅

拉斯维加斯智能技术战略的另一个基石是其与Acyclia的合作。随着数百万人涌入这座城市的大街小巷,该市希望实现零交通死亡,并改善交通流量。这里的街道和汽车将更加智能,交通控制中心将能实时分析交通数据。

Acyclia将在2300个交叉路口安装传感器,以提供地区交通的完整概况。工程师甚至可以改变交通信号并对具体情况做出反应。交通信号还将能与汽车进行通信!司机可以使用智能城市技术,了解交通灯何时变绿。

利用先进的车辆对基础设施(V2I)系统,拉斯维加斯也在准备使用自主车辆。该市是美国第一座引入无人驾驶巴士的城市,正在创新区进行测试。通过访问实时交通灯数据,巴士会得到停车或减速的信号。

 

虽然关于创新区发展的消息持续扩散,但需要指出的是,拉斯维加斯对于利用智能技术的优势并不陌生。拉斯维加斯为高科技公司进行创新创造条件已经有一段时间了,甚至还尝试了新的解决方案。

虽然关于创新区发展的消息持续扩散,但需要指出的是,拉斯维加斯对于利用智能技术的优势并不陌生。拉斯维加斯为高科技公司进行创新创造条件已经有一段时间了,甚至还尝试了新的解决方案。

例如,如今,拉斯维加斯的建筑物中已经有400多台MAX设施正在使用。MAX仍然是物联网和机器学习最具革命性的应用之一,它可以预测而非作出反应,极大地改善了电梯服务,而且可以将电梯故障时间缩短一半。

拉斯维加斯一直被誉为一个充满吸引力且高效的经商之地。这里吸引了消费电子展等顶尖技术展会,或者投资开发智能技术的其他企业,包括thyssenkrupp电梯。该公司于2017年在此举办了年度全球领导力会议。

拉斯维加斯的发展影响全球!

许多游客会将他们在创新区的所见所感带回到自己的城市。无论是从现代化的“智能”高层电梯、高科技会议,还是自主车辆获得的所见所感,拉斯维加斯正在迅速提高智能城市标准的门槛这已经不胫而走。

使用智能技术不仅能提高安全性,改善街道拥堵和提高政府的实时效率,还使全球的技术公司正视并注意到拉斯维加斯是一个鼓励创新的地方。随着新的合作关系不断确立,拉斯维加斯的经济正在多元化发展。这里所有的人都是赢家!

拉斯维加斯现在不是只有交通灯引人注意
拉斯维加斯现在不是只有交通灯引人注意

Playing their cards right, smart city Las Vegas invests in an “Innovation District”

Las-Vegas

Las Vegas is no stranger to rapid change and urbanization. A city used to being in the fast lane, it has now branched out and is leading not only in business and entertainment, but in pioneering the use of smart city technologies. Last year saw the launch of the Innovation District, which is sure to be the talk of many other cities hoping to follow in its footsteps.

Partnering with connectivity and IoT providers, Las Vegas will use smart application connectivity and machine and sensor data to radically enhance city planning, particularly with regard to traffic, safety and efficiency. By demonstrating smart technology readiness, Las Vegas not only modernizes solutions to urban challenges, it diversifies and boosts its economy.

Read more...
Las Vegas has come a long way from a gambling outpost to a smart, tech-savvy city. Las Vegas has come a long way from a gambling outpost to a smart, tech-savvy city.
Las Vegas has come a long way from a gambling outpost to a smart, tech-savvy city.

The next frontier for Las Vegas – modern and smart

Las Vegas has experienced rocketing urbanization. In 2015, Forbes named it one of the fastest-growing cities in the U.S.A. On top of the current population of about 600,000, over 40 million visitors flock to the city annually. Demands on the city’s infrastructure have spiked along with the need to improve traffic safety and boost overall transparency and pro-activeness of city services.

Las Vegas’s casinos were among the early adopters of the Internet of Things and machine learning, utilizing it for loyalty programs to rule out human error when keeping track of customer spending for their reward programs. This increased customer loyalty and satisfaction – just like the city now wants to do for citizens.

The city originally had just a small Wi-Fi network, which they considered building out internally, but the task seemed daunting, and such a huge infrastructure is expensive to maintain. Plus, Las Vegas was looking for a solution that would be flexible, as well as easy to upgrade and modify.

After seeking advice from cities like Glasgow and Austin, who were also cutting their teeth on smart city technology, Las Vegas decided they would look for a private enterprise partner to help them expand their networks.

C
 
Watch how Vegas grew over the years from 1984 to 2010 with NASA’s Landsat 5 satellite.

The high stakes of experimenting with city planning

Las Vegas was open to trying cutting-edge technological solutions, but the city did not want to gamble on the highly-experimental or risky. With tourists, residents, conventions and entrepreneurs convening in the city every day, Las Vegas needed strategies that deliver fast, high returns. City planning had to become more transparent and also engage the community to take part.

Information needed to be made available to everybody who needs it and data to be interoperable. And finally, that data should feed into a city support system which could use this real-time information and predictive analysis to improve city planning tools across all offices.

A test bed for innovation

Enter Ingenu, an industry leader in machine connectivity and the Internet of Things (IoT). Partnering with Las Vegas, they will provide the city with IoT connectivity. Ingenu’s Machine Network™ brings wireless connectivity to machine-to-machine communication and is built on powerful RPMA technology.

It enables the collection of data from various smart city applications ranging from air quality to traffic and will provide meaningful insight into how citizens engage with their city. The solution is based on an underlying of principle of open data.

The smart city technology strategy is being rolled out in Las Vegas’s new Innovation District. Next to the Las Vegas strip, it will serve as a test bed for IoT solutions to be implemented throughout the region.

Signals to keep Las Vegas in business

Another cornerstone of Las Vegas’s smart technology strategy is its partnership with Acyclia. With millions flooding the streets and downtown, the city wants to achieve zero traffic fatalities, and to improve the flow of traffic. The streets will be smarter, the cars too, and traffic control centers will be able to analyze traffic data in real time.

Acyclia will install sensors at 2,300 intersections which provide a complete overview of the region’s traffic. Engineers can even change traffic signals and react to situations. And the traffic signals will be able to talk back to cars too! Drivers will have access to smart city technology that communicates when the light will turn green.

With its cutting edge vehicle-to-infrastructure (V2I) system, Las Vegas is also paving the way for the use of autonomous vehicles. It is the first city in the US to introduce a driverless bus, which is being tested in the Innovation District. With access to the real-time traffic light data, it gets a signal when to stop or slow down.

C
 
Las Vegas driverless bus

Las Vegas sets the stage for smart technologies

While news on the developments in the Innovation District continues to spread, it’s worth pointing out that Las Vegas is no stranger to the advantages of hooking up with smart technology. Las Vegas has set the stage, for some time, for high-tech companies to launch innovations, or even try out new solutions.

For example, already in use today are more than 400 MAX installations in buildings throughout Las Vegas. MAX remains one of the most revolutionary uses of the IoT and machine learning to predict instead of react dramatically improving elevator service, with a potential to cut by half elevator downtime.

Las Vegas has always been praised as an attractive and efficient place to do business. The city is a draw for top technology fairs like the Consumer Electronics Show or other industries investing in the development of smart technology like thyssenkrupp Elevator, who held their annual global Leadership Conference here in 2017.

What happens in Vegas won’t stay in Vegas!

Many things that visitors to the Innovation District see and experience, they take back to their own cities. Whether picked up in a modern “smart” high-rise elevator, at a high-tech conference or in an autonomous vehicle, the buzz is that Las Vegas is rapidly raising the bar for smart city standards.

Embracing smart technologies has not only started to improve safety, congestion on the streets and real-time efficiency in government, it has made global technology companies sit up and take notice of Las Vegas as an innovation-friendly location. As new partnerships crop up, Las Vegas watches its economy diversify. And everyone at the table wins!

Vegas is now turning heads for more than its lights Vegas is now turning heads for more than its lights
Vegas is now turning heads for more than its lights
H